Rodger Johnson wins Record MSPT event, $79,185

Rodger Johnson of Grand Forks, ND just took down the largest MSPT event to date at Running Aces Harness Park to earn $79,185 and the RF Moeller Diamond Championship bracelet! 

Johnson – a farmer/pilot/real estate investor, etc – was the last man standing in a 311-player Main Event though he’s not the first in his family to win a MSPT event.  His brother Brian took down the 2010 event at Northern Lights Casino in Walker, MN. 

Johnson entered Day 2 at 16 big blinds with 32,000 chips.  At one point he was all-in with Q9 for his last 15,300.  “I won that hand,” Johnson said, “then started picking up some cards.” 

Johnson began the final table with 525,000.  With the blinds at 20K/40K, he faced a 3X raise in front of him that was more than his 115K stack.  He got it all-in with A3 suited in a 3-way pot and hit his flush to triple up.  After that it was fairly clear sailing.  He rolled to a large chip lead heads up against Erick Wright where he flopped a set of 9’s and got it all-in against Wright’s K-high.  That was it!

Wright again proved he’s a force to be reckoned with.  Wright has won the Twin Cities Poker Open, the Anniversary Tournament and placed 2nd in the Freeze Out, all $1k buy-in tourneys. 

Congratulations to Rodger Johnson, Erick Wright and all the players who cashed!  This is a wrap for the 2012 Mid-States Poker Tour at Running Aces, a record field to-date for the MSPT! 

The next stop is at Meskwaki Bingo Casino Hotel in Tama, IA March 24 – April 1.  That event is $300,000 GUARANTEED!!  Will the MSPT break 400?  See you there!

1Rodger Johnson$79,185
2Erick Wright$43,328
3Elias Monette$28,686
4Leo Fussy$19,423
5Sam Hanson$14,941
6Robby Westrom$11,952
7Dave Westrum$10,458
8Jeff Grobe$8,964
9Tom Westbrook$7,470
10Chris Clasen$5,976
11Chad Felix$5,976
12Brenden Sandy$5,976
13Josh Oien$4,183
14Tony Swanson$4,183
15Kevin Reichel$4,183
16Paul Schroeder$2,988
17Ryan Hartmann$2,988
18Dan Kraft$2,988
19Hank Mlekoday$2,390
20Shane Coen$2,390
21Richard Cockrell$2,390
22Todd Innes $2,390
23Chris Keller$2,390
24Matt Leshovsky$2,390
25John Hayes$2,390
26Steve Johnson$2,390
27Brian Soja$2,390
28Matt Alexander$1,494
29Matt Jenkin$1,494
30Jason Hartwig$1,494
31William Records$1,494
32Jocelyn Bendijo$1,494
33Ryan Arnold$1,494
34Tara Dunn$1,494
35Eric Grave$1,494
36Tracy Blackwell$1,494

One Response to “Rodger Johnson wins Record MSPT event, $79,185”

  1. Minneapolis Jim Says:

    Congrats to Mr. Johnson, Mr. Wright and everyone else who showed a profit.